2005-03-07 @ 4:28 p.m.
Matriarchal Relations


So I started my Diploma in Interior Design! It's a mixture of apprehension and excitement for me right now. Excitement = because I love studying and having something to work on... Apprehension = because it's so DAMN HARD and EXPENSIVE. There's all this equipment and books to buy, but I am just going to have to put a hold on most of that until I have some money. I have to read through all 8 course manuals before I can even start an assignment so that should keep me busy.

Things have been very difficult for me at home recently. Those of you who know me personally will know that I have a very close relationship with my mother. Anyway, recently things have not been going too well in the mother/daughter relationship department and I have been at the end of my tether. As I have said before on this diary: living in close quarters with your parents as an adult, is really hard! Having these problems with my mum is made even harder because I absolutely hate arguing with her. I hate the feeling of negativity that seems to hang over us right now and I feel as if I am walking on eggshells trying not to upset her or let her down. The really distressing part for me is that I just want to run away and get my own place, my own life and I never wanted to feel like that or to leave on a bad note.

My sister came over on Thursday and is still here. For the first time in a long while I have actually been grateful for her presence. The Other Half was not with her so that is part of the reason why I didn't feel so displaced by her being here, but the real bonus was that she diffused the whole 'Mother Situation' and attention was deflected onto her.

March is an expensive month for me because it has Mother's Day (for the UK) and my mum's birthday in it. Anyway, we got mum some nice flowers and I bought her some face creamy stuff! Then yesterday I cooked a roast beef lunch and a spiced apple dessert. I try so hard to be a good and supportive daughter, but just lately I feel as if 'my best' is not good enough and that my mum will never be happy with me unless I am doing absolutely everything in the house and she doesn't feel so pressurised by chores and responsiblities. One day I am just going to walk away and she will be left with it all anyway, so I don't see how my doing everything is ultimately going to help her!

Then to top it off... my Significant Other had an argument with me about something (which made me feel like sh!t)... and I felt like... ok people are never pleased with me unless I am saying: YES! Then those same people turn around and say to me: You should be more assertive, you have to learn to say no, you have to not let people walk all over you. So when I say: NO, they have a hissy fit.. go figure!



Previous & Next

|


+ Born & Living in the UK
+ LTR with OH since 22 September 2004
+ Yorkshire Terrier named Millie
+ M.E. - P.C.O.S - I.B.S. - O.C.D & other issues!
+ Bachelors from UCL
+ Currently studying Interior Design & Decoration
+ Enjoys - Cooking, art, reading, TV, movies, travel
+ Struggles - Life, family relationships, health
+ Future - Marriage, relocation, more studying


The current mood of vlal21 at www.imood.com

� MooMoo 2005
Re-designed 03/11/05

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com