2005-11-13 @ 4:27 p.m.
Misunderstood


Things are going well... I went out for a drink (Thorntons - not alcoholic) with mum on Friday and have been staying with OH ever since. I didn't really fancy being stuck at home all weekend. I guess I just need some space to be myself without having to be apologetic or guilt-ridden. Yesterday was cool as we hung out with his friend C, who is a drama teacher at a school in a nearby town. I haven't really gotten to know her properly before, so it was nice to chat with her and see where she's coming from. As we were talking, the topic turned to M.E. and it turns out C has a brother and a friend who have suffered with M.E.

Now I have to be honest that I didn't really want to talk about it, but OH mentioned that I suffer from it and then she started asking me questions about it... so I didn't have much choice.

In the past, people asking me about M.E. would have filled me with extreme fear and anxiety. I know it sounds a litle strange, but I would panic because I would worry that I couldn't convey exactly how it feels so that people would understand. I felt like I was doing myself and other sufferers a dis-service by trying to explain how it feels and quite frankly, doing a crap job of it! I have always felt bogged down by the burden of being misunderstood... and that's been a really hard burden to bear at times. Constantly feeling the need to prove your (true) sickness and to almost justify your existence as a human being, is wearing and soul destroying. If I started talking about my personal experience of it then I would get really emotional and have the urge to cry or just fall to pieces.

So this time... when I was asked, I took a deep breath and although I felt the dread of having to talk about it, I felt strength where there was previously none. I talked about it from both a personal and impersonal point of view. I managed to talk slowly without rushing and to put my point across and you know, I also managed to not get upset when I felt that she didn't necessarily understand, that at the end of the day... even if she didn't understand... it didn't matter... because I know how I feel and I am now assured enough in myself that MY opinion matters over other people's opinions of me and what I am suffering from.

THAT F-ING ROCKS!!

So anyway, most of this weekend has been us (OH and I) lazing around, reading and watching TV. I need that! I need time by ourselves where we are not stressed and he is not working. I need time where I can relax and forget about problems, troubles and strife. My body really appreciates the physical and mental rest... I can feel it sigh with relief.

Then every so often my mind momentarily flits to the doctor's appointment on Tuesday. I am not worried per se, but I know that by the time I get in the surgery I will be feeling anxious. I don't like doctors and I have never felt any support or understanding from them so I tend to approach these situations with a slightly biased and clouded mind. It's hard to feel comfortable about going to see one, when I have had so many negative experiences in the past. I need to write down what exactly I hope to gain from this appointment so I don't look like a frightened rabbit caught in the headlights when he asks me what's wrong.

That's all really.



Previous & Next

|


+ Born & Living in the UK
+ LTR with OH since 22 September 2004
+ Yorkshire Terrier named Millie
+ M.E. - P.C.O.S - I.B.S. - O.C.D & other issues!
+ Bachelors from UCL
+ Currently studying Interior Design & Decoration
+ Enjoys - Cooking, art, reading, TV, movies, travel
+ Struggles - Life, family relationships, health
+ Future - Marriage, relocation, more studying


The current mood of vlal21 at www.imood.com

� MooMoo 2005
Re-designed 03/11/05

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com